Inside Astropad, Staff Spotlight

Meet the Astronaut: Jesús, Windows Software Engineer

Our small team is stacked with talent. As a remote-first team, we’re spread across many timezones and regions. Curious about who works behind the scenes at Astropad? Here’s a glimpse at what we are all about, one staff interview at a time.

Jesús Trinidad Díaz Ramírez ?

  • Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
  • Zodiac Sign: Aquarius
  • Coffee or Tea: Both!
  • Truth or Dare: Dare!

Tell us a bit about your role.

I’m part of the effort to bring Astropad and Luna to the Windows platform. Right now I’m building the UI on Windows and helping with the development of our cross-platform codebase in Rust.

What’s your favorite thing about the work you do?

It’s always really satisfying when you finally put together a lot of small pieces of software to build something new. It feels like it comes alive! Like magic…

Where do you mostly work from?

Home. Sometimes from a small office at my girlfriend’s house.

What’s your workspace like?

I have a small desk where I place my laptop and my monitor. There’s also a mechanical keyboard, an attached shelf where I usually charge the Mac/iPad, a small desk organizer, a Rubik cube and a monkey-face-shaped piece of carved wood. I usually keep a glass of water around and I like to have a puzzle nearby to work on.

Walk us through your daily routine…

Usually, I wake up and prepare coffee and something for breakfast.
Then, I check if I have any pending tasks and check in on Slack and email messages. After that, I get into coding mode and I research/debug, as needed. From time to time, I stand up from my desk to drink some water, grab a small snack or just to walk around to clear my mind. I usually have lunch while I watch or read a short episode of something (series, tech blogs, interesting videos, articles, news).

After lunch, I return to work to finish the milestones I had set up for the day. In the afternoons I usually read, spend time with my girlfriend, and hang out with my friends. At the end of the day, I take care of the little garden outside my door, cook some dinner and watch some series before going to sleep. Sometimes I break that schedule because I enjoy coding at night.

On weekends, I go out with my girlfriend or I travel to my hometown (Ameca, Jalisco) to visit my family, hang out with my friends, play soccer, go running or go outdoors with my dad.

What tools do you use (apps, etc) to stay productive?

Slack, Pocket, Firefox, and Github.

What do you do when you’re in a creative rut?

I tend to take notes and experiment with the ideas that I come up with.

Tell us about your garden!

I’ve been setting up a small garden outside of my home and I really enjoy tending to it!

If you had to describe yourself with one emoji, which would you choose and why?

Hmm, difficult… ?. But, I pick that one because I think that’s the one I use most and it best describes my usual mood.

Want to work for Astropad? Check out our current job openings or send us an email and tell us about yourself.